News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Northumberland Fusiliers

Hello, I am very new to this so I apologise for any mistakes I make along the way. I am looking for some help/support/advice/information on the Northumberland Fusiliers. My Great Grandfather Samuel Proud (22/214) served, and gave his life, on the 26th August 1917. He is buried at Hargicourt, France and we have planned a trip there at the end of August, however the CWGC has him recorded as T Proud. I have a copy of his birth certificate and medal card and both clearly state his name as Samuel. If the headstone is incorrect (I sincerely hope it is not) then how does one go about having it corrected ? My other query is how could I find out some more information about the Battalion my Great Grandfather served in, the battle he died in, conditions served in, enlistment etc. Thankyou for taking the time to read this post and in anticipation of any help or information you are able to give me. Louise

Soldiers Died" shows a 22/214 Private Samuel Proud,initials S, 22nd Battalion (Tyneside Scottish) Northumberland Fusiliers, born Denton Burn, Northumberland, enlisted Newcastle - on - Tyne, died 26/8/17, Killed in Action France & Flanders.

I've checked "Ancestyry" for the Medal Index Cards re Samuel & re "T" Proud with negative result so far, have'nt checked Servce Records yet.

There will be loads of info out there on the battalion, & Graham no doubt will have something to add when he's next logged on.

Looks like he does, however, have a Medal Index Card on National Archives:

Image details

Description Medal card of Proud, Samuel

Corps Regiment No Rank

Northumberland Fusiliers 22/214 Private

Date 1914-1920

Catalogue reference WO 372/16

Dept Records created or inherited by the War Office, Armed Forces, Judge Advocate General, and related bodies