News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Non-combatant group of 4 w/ Military Merit Cross

Hello Everyone,

This group of four just arrived yesterday and I was hoping that the members might have some opinions as to what position this fellow might have held that kept him out of combat yet earned him a Bavarian Military Merit Cross with crossed swords. I am pretty confident that this group is authentic, though I am still quite new to Imperial German collecting.

In 1897 he recieved the Prussian 100th anniversary of Kaiser Wilhelm I's birth medal so he was in the army before WWI. At some point, probably during the War, he revieced the Military Merit Cross for his contributions to the War efforts.The Kyffhauserbund Medal would indicate that he survived the war and joined this particular veteran's association. Then in 1934 he was awarded the Honour Cross (aka Hindenberg Cross) and added it to the group that had already been mounted up after he received the Kyffhauserbund Medal. The group would have had to have been changed after 1936 to conform with regulations since the Kyffhauserbund Medal was banned from wear after that date. He either passed away before having the changes made or, perhaps lacking the funds, decided to leave the group as it was.

Was it common to continue to wear the Kyffhauserbund Medal after 1936?

The Honour Cross is for non-combatants (due to the absence of the crossed swords which indicates combat service) so he never saw action. Would this indicate that he was in some sort of administrative role?

I would really like to hear your comments.

Regards

Brian