News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

What is this?

willone242

Hi - I am sorry to bother you with this, but it is kind of driving me mad trying to figure out what it is. I found this at a antique market in Warszawa last week, and I guess it is from the 30-40s. I worked as an military officer for a few years with mine and bomb disposal, and I kind of get the feel that it might be a timer device for a bomb or torpedo? But I guess it also might just be for industrial use. Has any one here seen such an item before? In the metal can/cartridge, it is set upon thre sliders/bolts, so you just lift it out. I get the feeling it comes in a can, you just pul it out and mount it in the same way in the device, what ever it might be?

Best regards.

William Forsth

SWEDEN

Hello William Forsth;

Welcome to the forum. I tried to figure out what your device is, but I couldn't come to a conclusion.

I will share with you what I understand about this item. I believe your first photo of the metal manufacturing label is very informative.

Starting off; the manufacturer is Novitas S.A., headquartered in Zurich, Switzerland. I couldn't find anything on this company.

Next is the Type; "LW" but without the company records of the different models and makes of devices they made, this isn't very helpful.

Next is "10 A" and " 250 V" along with "~"

The 10 A is for 10 Amps and the 250 V is 250 volts. The ~ is not for a battery, and that would suggest a remote device. The "~" symbol is for alternating current. Like the "10" and the "250" the metal label was specifically marked to indicate that this device needs A/C current.

Lastly, again the engraved number is hard to read but is it "168389"? That is the patent number. If you could access the Swiss patent records and look up this number it will tell you EXACTLY what this is for.