News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Analog photographers may have heard of reciprocity failure, also known as the Schwarzfield effect. To counter this failure you have to increase exposure according to the Schwarzfield law. That's how I know him as a photo collector. But he is probably more famous for his involvement in Einstein's relativity theory. 

Now the popular believe is that he did the calculations for field equations as an artillery officer in a trench at the eastern front. And he died later in combat. While we know he died of complications of an autoimmune disease. 

So without going into details what he did exactly as a physicist, I thought it would be interesting to find out what his military career path was. In which unit did he serve and where did he saw combat?

Seems he had a very short military career for a man of his age.  I can't tell you where he might have seen combat.

Andy

Karl Siegmund Schwarzschild

11.05.1916           he died in Potsdam, having last served on the staff of "General der Fußartillerie 10"

02.09.1915           promoted to Leutn. d. Landwehr Fußartillerie 1. Aufgebots from Landwehr Bez.  Potsdam.  At this time he was serving with the I. Ersatz Batl. of Fußart. R. 8

09.10.1873           born in Frankfurt a.M.