News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

French miniature group opinions

RobW

To all,

Here is an interesting recent pickup of a group of French mini's, consisting of:

* Médaille Militaire, 3rd Republic, 1870-1951 type

* Croix du Guerre, 1939-1940 dated reverse

* Médaille de la Résistance

* Croix du Combattant Volontaire Resistance

* Croix du Combattant Volontaire 1914-1918

* Croix du Combattant

* Médaille des Blessés Militaire, 2nd Type

* Médaille Coloniale

What is interesting to me is that the Croix de Guerre 1939-1940 is a Vichy issue on a 1939 ribbon. Is it possible that someone who received a Vichy Croix de Guerre then subsequently joined the Resistance would still wear it at a later date ?

I would appreciate any and all thoughts and opinions on this group as it is an area I have little knowledge.

Regards,

Rob

Edited by RobW

Unusual combination - impossible if complete entitlement??

The C de G is not on the Vichy ribbon (which was black and green), but on the French Republic ribbon and without emblem. Presumably he served 1939-40 with the French forces, in which case he should also have the WW2 commemorative (and presumably explains presence of military Valour Cross.

Unusual combination - impossible if complete entitlement??

The C de G is not on the Vichy ribbon (which was black and green), but on the French Republic ribbon and without emblem. Presumably he served 1939-40 with the French forces, in which case he should also have the WW2 commemorative (and presumably explains presence of military Valour Cross.

Hello Rich,

Thanks for the clarification. I had worked out that the CdG was not on the Vichy ribbon as I mentioned in the initial post. I just found it odd that it was a Vichy CdG on the normal ribbon.