News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Rencontre de patrouilleurs, 1916

lazyschnauzer

As the title says, this two figure vignette is taken from a Georges Scott illustration. The action and pose should be self-explanatory. It is in the process of being painted now, so I'm afraid all I have to show you is the putty colors. 120mm scale. Some resin parts from kits. About 80% scratchbuilt.

All the best,

lazyschnauzer

• 4 months later...

Chris and Snoopy: Many thanks fellas! I sculpt and put the models together, but I am not a painter. That is, I could paint it, but I'm a very mediocre painter. Therefore I collaborate with various European and US painters. When I finished this vignette I wanted to try out a Spanish painter that said he was interested in collaborating with me. He had an excellent reputation and had done well in shows and with online reviews.

Unfortunately the poor fella had some family troubles almost immediately after receiving the model. I believe his father became very ill and painting the vignette became (understandably) the last thing on his mind. There are things much more important than figure models. I haven't heard from the painter in quite a while, but I'm always reluctant to query someone in this situation. If he never paints it, c'est la guerre, c'est la vie! There are more where that one came from.

I'm working on a 3 figure vignette of DLI Tommies on the Somme and a single figure 2nd CMR Canadian soldier shoveling.

All the best,

Dan

Hi Dan

I must say that I am very impressed with your figures. They look excellent, even without paint. What kind of putty do you use, when you sculpt your models? Do you model mainly world war one subjects? Personally I build mainly aircraft models. Some day I might have a go at some figures, but figurepainting have allways worried me a bit.

Snoopy