News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

I just received this in the mail. I don't have pics. I will try to take some but I am not very good at it.

Please bear with me as I try to describe this item.

It came in a dark red case, case. clasp and hinges are very good, black velvet inside bottom, white inside top., black ribbon retaining strap. Case gold marked Bayr. M.V.O. 4.K1.

The ribbon is correct with the broad white middle followed by thinner royal blue and then black strips on each side. It is soiled (not really bad) and shows the creases from the medal's jump ring.

Now the medal:

gilt is still strong but I think I can see silver shean here and there. (I think gilt tends to exaporate over time.)

the enamel front and back seems perfect. I can see no chips.

the jump ring is marked 900

the reverse of the fitting that holds the swords to the medal is marked 950 on the left and J. L. on the right.

the reverse of the swords on the right is marked J. L. 900

the L with crown on the medallion front and the lion on the back look better than gilted silver.

I know practically nothing about these medals but I think I have a hold of a really nice item.

I very gently used a soft tooth brush to the medal and did take off some slight dust and dirt. Should I attempt to clean anymore?

I really would appreciate your comments on this. I am really tickled pink with it!!!

Thanks,

Rod

Guest Rick Research

"J L" was Jakob Leser-- my favorite maker, at least with real gold centers thanks to their open-work crown:

[attachmentid=63112]

That's a gold center. If you have any doubt, chances are it's a late war silver gilt center.

"J L" was Jakob Leser-- my favorite maker, at least with real gold centers thanks to their open-work crown:

[attachmentid=63112]

That's a gold center. If you have any doubt, chances are it's a late war silver gilt center.

Hi Rick,