News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Another "Last" WW1 Veteran Gone-- Massachusetts

Guest Rick Research

Guest Rick Research

Actually, omitted from the print version (probably on legal advice) was what made local TV--

in that "small print advertising disclaimer" way...

as to how he utilized Listerine, of all things. "Don't try this at home" BUT... it certainly didn't do him any harm. Unless it took 10 years off his life. :rolleyes:

In 1997, I remember meeting a German veteran who worked on Hermann Goring's aircraft machine guns... in WW1!!! He told me that he was an armorer and an NCO. He had photos to prove it(as I found it initially a bit hard to believe). He told me that he met quite a few familiar aces during his time in service. I wish that I had a chance to ask more information from him, but he was old and fatigued very easily. :(

When was stationed in Alaska, I was a officer of the local chapter of the American Legion. Every Veteran's Day, we would hold an event/lunch. He and his great grandson would show up to join us. He was bummed that he could not join our organization officially, but we enjoyed his company. I think that he was the only WW1 vet that showed that year.

Actually, omitted from the print version (probably on legal advice) was what made local TV--

in that "small print advertising disclaimer" way...

as to how he utilized Listerine, of all things. "Don't try this at home" BUT... it certainly didn't do him any harm. Unless it took 10 years off his life. :rolleyes:

Listerine drinker eh? Original formula was 54 proof... not unheard of for recovering alcoholics to use it, to ward off seizures.