News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Hi;

I am studying a Pionier. He was inducted into Pionier=Bataillon Nr. 3 "von Rausch" in Brandenburg in early 1915, sent off on some detached duty, where he seems to have become seriously ill, and then a document states, in partial translation: "Transferred to 4.(32.) Ersatz Kompagnie" in mid-November 1915. He then seems to have dropped from view for several months.

I read a lot about pioneer units, and have never even seen such a unit designation. The only places that he seemed to be in this period was Germany (Brandenburg) and the Balkans.

Perhaps this was a temporary unit for detached service.

Any ideas? Specifics, or a general idea as to what kind of designation that is?

Bob Lembke

Hi;

I am studying a Pionier. He was inducted into Pionier=Bataillon Nr. 3 "von Rausch" in Brandenburg in early 1915, sent off on some detached duty, where he seems to have become seriously ill, and then a document states, in partial translation: "Transferred to 4.(32.) Ersatz Kompagnie" in mid-November 1915. He then seems to have dropped from view for several months.

I read a lot about pioneer units, and have never even seen such a unit designation. The only places that he seemed to be in this period was Germany (Brandenburg) and the Balkans.

Perhaps this was a temporary unit for detached service.

Any ideas? Specifics, or a general idea as to what kind of designation that is?

Bob Lembke

Bob, he was transferred to the 4.Ersatz-Kompanie/Pionier-Bataillon Nr. 32

Edited by Naxos

Bob, he was transferred to the 4.Ersatz-Kompanie/Pionier-Bataillon Nr. 32

Thanks, Hardy; I have never seen such a unit notation. I guess that might have been a war-time unit, with a number that high. I just got my copy of Cron in the mail yesterday; I will look in it and see what he says.

Anyone know of this unit, and what it was doing in late 1915. In the Balkans?