News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

What are the laws for a demilled MP40 in the US?

FlaHP

The weapon was demilled in the UK after being brought back after the war. Its dated 1943 and seems to be demilled by a tack weld.

Hi FlaHP,

I'm not an expert on this and may be a bit out of date but I'll give this a try. To my knowledge, according to U.S. law, to be demilled a full auto firearm's receiver had to be vertically flame cut in three places with a torch, which of course ruins the look of them as well.

Here's one from a Thompson SMG that's been flame cut into 3 pieces with the one that attaches to the barrel completely removed:

(pics from International Military Antiques site)

They've sold kits for ages (Shotgun News, etc.) where the receivers have been replaced by phony's that are made to look right but are non-functional.

Otherwise, if it's been done in any other way I believe they are still considered to be a full auto firearm and has to be registered as same, tax paid, etc.

The laws over here (and in many other countries) are NUTS to say the least and at times even the BATF doesn't understand them all. If you inquire different agents will tell you different things. But when it comes right down to it if you do the littlest thing wrong you may expect to receive a visit from several well equipped agents. Trust me... there are horror stories out there (just search the web, read gun magazines, talk to dealers at shows) and most of them are sadly all too true. :(