News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Gents,

I have no knowledge on medal bars but in the short period I've spent on this forum I hope I learnt at least something.

So let's test me...

This one is currently being sold 'somewhere' and here I try to summarize why I believe it's a fake.

1) At first since there's MVK3X and Honor Cross with swords we can say that this one belonged to a combatant.

2) Then we have here 2 medals - Luitpold Medal and Ludwig's cross - awarded for efforts done on the homefront - both on incorrect ribbon (or is the Luitpold's only faded out?). Ludwig's Cross is on long service ribbon? So combatant vs. non combatant?

3) Then the Long Service Cross - I believe it's for 15 Years as a Reserve Officer? Shouldn't there be an MVO instead of MVK since guy was an officer?

So am I correct on at least 50%? ;)

A picture of the back would be good but as far as I can see there is only one real problem with that bar... the Ludwigskreuz is wrong there... change the Ludwigskreuz against a Third Reich officials DA ( 25 years cross I think...) and then the bar makes sense.... Luitpold medal is ok , ribbon is right... all ribbons are folded in bavarian style , the only thing the soldier has to think about is why he did not get a EK2 and the only thing I have to think about is that a MVK with crown and swords would make more sense for a nco.... but it seems that the medals are hanging on hooks at the back so you can change whatever you want.... :sleep: