News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Hello and some red cross medals

Kryptos

Welcome! I haven't focused on Red Cross medals quite yet, though I do have a handful. I really like the variety available in both men's and women's, the different cases, and various rosettes that are available. I'm still trying to make heads or tales of exactly which medals are appropriate to which types of cases and their proper rosettes. Basically doing a LOT of auction watching and picture analysis. rolleyes.gif Yes, I do have too much time on my hands, but it amuses me......blush.gif.....and I am making progress, or so I think.

Thank you Dieter!

I am a self confessed utter noob to the Japanese area. Started with the Red Cross area as my main collection is Red Cross related so at least there is a bit of a link. But yes, being thoroughly overwhelmed with what is available. Not being able to read Kanji also does not really help with matters at this stage, but I have had a love for Japanese culture for years and have always wanted to branch out into this area.

Looking forward to many interesting discussions (although it will probably be a good while before I can add anything usefull in this area :speechless:).

I wouldn't worry too much about the kanji! As far as reading them and knowing what they say is less important than what kanji are appropriate to a particular case or medal. Not too often, but you do find items up for auction that are in the wrong cases so it pays to learn what is correct and what is not for a particular medal. But if you do become serious about Japanese items, there are a couple of very good reference books out there that would be handy for you, granted they don't have an intense level of detail on cases, rosettes, or other "peripherals" - something I'm interested in, almost as much as the medals themselves!