News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Identify this cap badge?

Thomas W

No problem. I'm assuming it was a general insignia worn by pretty much all the A/H troops... but I'm far from an expert. Hoping some of the others will pop in with more info. And with the other insignia on the cap hopefully they can nail down a specific unit.

Good luck!beer.gif

Dancheers.gif

Hoping some of the others will pop in with more info. And with the other insignia on the cap hopefully they can nail down a specific unit.

This guy has shoulder-strap numbers (Truppenabzeichen) that have been retouched out by the photographer; I think one of his cap badges has been retouched out, too. I have another photo of a sapper whose shoulder-strap and cap numbers were retouched out. I think my sapper belonged to Sappeur-Bataillon Nr. 61, which was the flamethrower battalion. The unit was pretty secretive, so it makes sense that the numbers on the shoulder straps and cap would be hidden in photos.

Maybe this guy is a flamethrower sapper, too.

Edited by Thomas W

Brave guys to do that sort of thing. One round hit's the tanks and you're a human torch... not a nice way to go.unsure.gifsad.gif

But makes sense as especially back in those early days of such weapons I can imagine they were very secretive and considered rather an elite type of force.

Great pic by the way!beer.gif

Dancheers.gif

Dan asked me if I had anything on this one - all that I can find is one similar in a auction catalogue - it simply states it was and "eagle head bayonet" so there is nothing unit specific - from the nature of the bayonet being a close combat idea and with the fact that he was in a flamethrower unit - I would make an assumption that this was for stormtrooper units??