News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Knights cross

Hello all

Here is another cross i have come on. dont know whether to take a chance on it or how much it may be worth.

There is no case or papers with it but to me it looks good but i am no expert

any comments would be appreciated.

Assuming its ok what would this cross be worth?

post-6934-000106100 1285591043_thumb.jpg

Save your money. This is a well-known type of fake, probably made in Latvia about seven or eight years ago. The fakers tried to emulate the cross-hatching effect on the inner corners of the beading on original C E Juncker crosses but, like so many other details, got it wrong. This fake has also been seen with other makers' marks.

PK

That cross was one of about 5 that were for sale at an auction. That one and 2 other didnt sell. The others made up to 6500 euro. I assume the others must have been real or else someone was badly caught. That cross had a value of 2500 + 15% Commision on the catalogue. Is it unusual for fakes to make it into what you would think would be a reputable auction house. Another web site advertised a 1957 RK for sale and when i enquired the came clean and said they werent sureif it was real or a reproduction. Is there any safe place to buy a medal like a knights cross.