Jump to content

Artur Becker Medal

Recommended Posts


Instituted in 1960 and awarded to members of the FDJ for exemplary service. It was the organisation's highest award, and came in 3 classes (Gold, Silver and Bronze). Like many such awards, it came in 2 types: the first with a metal/enamel suspension, the second with a cloth-covered one.

1st Type, Gold Medal:

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Does this mean that there are THREE types, rather than two?

As in: -

#1: Metal/enamel suspension with stripes on.

#2: Plain metal/enamel suspension.

#3: Cloth-covered suspension.

Had noticed while researching that some of the metal/enamel ones had stripes & some not, but nobody (mostly sales sites) had dated them. Anyone know the dates?

And, lovely pictures, Kevin. Thank you very much :)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hi Megan,

there are 4 types.

But for that you need the catalogues from Frank Bartel.

The first type had been awarded from 1960 to 1971. Only the first type had a metal suspension.

The suspension from Post 1 must be (is) a suspension for a Bronze medal.


Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Create New...