News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Hello readers:

With the valuable help of Rick Research I am able to post some information regarding Lt.d.Res. Hans Holst, the eldest brother of my father. Uncle Hans was born 25 February, 1891 and was a school teacher by profession. The first information regarding his military life is his serving as Offiziersstellvertreter in Res.Inf.Rgt. 84. He received his commission as Leutnant d.Res. on 39 July, 1915 in that regiment to be transferred to Res.Inf.Rgt. 207. He lost his life during the battles at Verdun on 30 April, 1916 serving in that regiment.

I wish to thank Rick for his help in this very personal matter.

The German Volksbund caring for the administration of German War Graves, the recovering of remains still today and other endeavors regarding mainly German war losses, do not show data of him in their registry of German War Dead.

I recall another photo of him from home wearing the ribbon of the Iron Cross but which must have gotten lost over time.

My uncle is on the right.

Bernhard H. Holst

Hello readers;

Here is another but very poor picture ( probably a copy of a copy ) of my uncle as Offiziersstellvertreter in R.I.R. 84. He is seated on the right. Also a picture of his grave.

Information on the original postcard bears a stamp " Aus militaerischen Gruenden verzoegert", ( Delayed for military reasons ). Complete information on his unit is given ( i.e.regiment, division and army corps which astounded me.

Bernhard H. Holst

In the 16 May 1916 Prussian Verlustliste, he is listed as Johannes Holst, Lt.d.R., 11./RIR 207, vom RIR 84, geb. Hamersen, Zeven, † an seinen Wunden Feld.Laz. 2. II.A.K.

According to the 1910 census, Hamersen was a village of 258 inhabitants, located in Landkreis Zeven, Regierungsbezirk Stade, Provinz Hannover.