News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Unusual Bulgarian soldier's cross with short swords

Hi guys, I am new to medal collecting (I'm 17) and just came across a very strange soldier's cross with short swords from the Balkan wars. It is the first emission. 

Could someone please tell me why it has short swords. I have compared it to a cross the same emission.

I can't share the pics :(

Hello Bratovanov,

Welcome to GMIC and welcome to the wonderful, sometimes maddening but always fulfilling, world of medal collecting. 

You should repost your question in the Central & Eastern European States section of the board. It is more likely to be seen there.

All the best,

Tracy

On 25/02/2024 at 22:04, Bratovanov.T said:

Hi guys, I am new to medal collecting (I'm 17) and just came across a very strange soldier's cross with short swords from the Balkan wars. It is the first emission. 

Could someone please tell me why it has short swords. I have compared it to a cross the same emission.

I can't share the pics :(

Welcome to the Club.

It is a pity you cannot post any photos of the cross

Here are pictures of the very first emission l of the soldiers cross it is made from silver

The swards are normal size

You can come across from time to time with some small variations of the different models of the cross however those variations could be explained with some errors during the making of the crosses

Picture 732.jpg

Picture 733.jpg

10933783_826899737371184_5302382067191154483_n.jpg

1506813_826899710704520_7898720582201990462_n.jpg

• 2 weeks later...
    On 16/03/2024 at 07:14, Bratovanov.T said:

20240315_220958.jpg

20240315_221027.jpg

Sorry for the bad lighting, I just made the photos now. If you want more photos I could make them tomorrow in daylight 

Yes, interesting  cross I can contribute the short swards as a maker error