News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Picklehaube Gold or Garbage

Hi all, a bit of advice concerning a chance purchase which has been lurking in my store for quite a while. I'm no Picklehaube expert, but several months ago I chanced upon the attached in a bric-a-brac shop, to me it looked right, felt right and smelled right, so I decided to take a punt on it and bought it.

Now for the nitty gritty, was it a good purchase or have I wasted my money, in all honesty it was priced the same as the average Indian reproduction, so if it's a lemon, no great financial disaster, (It will end up the Grandchildrens dressing up box most probably). or have I chanced upon a reasonable deal?

The closest I can establish is with this example, image credit indicated

for info all the fittings are post and nuts/washers, except for the two holding the visor trim which are substantial split pins, thr visor does show leather shrinkage

Any comments appreciated

regards

Alex K

haube1.JPG

haube2.JPG

haube3.JPG

haube4.JPG

haube5.JPG

haube6.JPG

haube7.JPG

Hi Alex

i hope my reply prompts those wizards  who know the finer signs to put you out of your misery (or not...) with a definitive answer...

First though,  regardless, i think it looks great.

It looks better than the example you picture.

If it’s original then you’ve got a beauty and a bargain, if not original then still a beauty. To me, the fittings look undisturbed on yours and with the plate flush and tight... and the inside is lovely, the colours and condition is great looking.

fingers crossed for you

best wishes

tony