News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Hello Gents!

The back of the photo is dated 1916. I believe this is a Bavarian bar including EKII, Wurtemburg bravery medal? , Bavarian Military Merit Cross with swords device ?, UNKNOWN (wild guess is Hamburg but I doubt it), and Prussian Red Cross medal?

The last one also looks like an Honor Cross but since the photo was dated 1916 and the uniform looks wartime I suspect it is a ribbon that has similar colors. The name of the soldier is Eckle and after looking up where that name is most common, sources show Wurtemburg which led me to believe the second medal was the bravery medal. Perhaps he was a stretcher bearer?  

Thanks so much,

Rav

German Postcard 2 - Version 2.jpg

Hello Rav,

There are many possibilities regarding the awards represented by the field ribbon bar.  To start however, although I am not a uniform expert, due to the buttons having "crowns", I believe that this NCO is not a Bavarian.  It is a WWI-era uniform.  The first position on the field ribbon bar certainly has the EKII ribbon.  There is definitely not a Hindenburg Cross/Honor Cross ribbon here.  Please scan the entire front and reverse of the photo and share it here.  There may be more clues available (such as headgear, an address on the back, name/address of photographer, etc.).

Best regards,

3 hours ago, Schießplatzmeister said:

Hello Rav,