News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

New member here

Hi all, my name is Kevin and I am a Vietnam vet having served with the 101st Airborne Division. My collection is very eclectic. I am wondering if anyone can help me research a medal trio to a J Prince? Medals are a 1939/45 Star, zDefense Medal, and a 1939/45 Medal. Number on War medal is 19853.

Thanks and look forward to participating in group.

Kevin

On 10/07/2023 at 17:56, kjfswkr said:

Hi all, my name is Kevin and I am a Vietnam vet having served with the 101st Airborne Division. My collection is very eclectic. I am wondering if anyone can help me research a medal trio to a J Prince? Medals are a 1939/45 Star, zDefense Medal, and a 1939/45 Medal. Number on War medal is 19853.

Thanks and look forward to participating in group.

Kevin

Hi Kevin and welcome.

If the Defence & War Medal are struck in silver, then I would say the recipient is Canadian. If, however, the (named? &) numbered 1939-45 Medal is made of cupro-nickel, the recipient could be an Australian, South African (or even Indian).

See here:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/War_Medal_1939–1945

Hope this helps narrow your search.

Edited by ÖSTA

On 15/07/2023 at 17:24, kjfswkr said:

Thanks OSTA, I believe it is the cupro-nickel. I am in the USA and I don't understand how to search British records.

Thanks

Kevin

Hi Kevin,

Neither do I!

To our frustration , having a search of British WW2 medal records is generally still unavailable, I’ve just had a look and seems there are some exceptions.

However it would seem likely the medals you have were not issued to a British serviceman, unless the inscription was done privately after receipt.
    The UK did not name it’s WW2 War & Defence medals or the campaign stars, which is a Damn shame.