News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Hello all

I have just received another Miltarpass, apparently to a soldier who died in WW1 as his widow(?) received his Honour Cross for WW1, which is still with its cellophane wrapper. 

Not being a German expert, I have a few questions please.

1) Is it likely that a Miltarpass was handed to next-of-kin for fallen soldiers?

2) I cannot see any mention of his death in the booklet. I have also looked at the German WW1 casualty list and can find some entries for this name, but none from after April 1918, the date of the last entries. I even tried looking up the widow's details in the hope of finding more details about him, but nothing. The pass comes with the original sleeve, but I cannot see any mention of him dying.

3) The handwritten entry for orders/decorations seems to say Kreuz, unless I am mistaken. Could that be an EK2?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Richard

20231102_143757.jpg

motschmann9.jpg

motschmann8.jpg

motschmann7.jpg

motschmann6.jpg

motschmann5.jpg

motchsmann4.jpg

motschmann3.jpg

motschmann2.jpg

motschmann1.jpg

Hi Richard,

If you could provide a detailed image of pages 10 and 11, that would be great. Looks like this guy was released from service and given a pension, not sure why. The Widow's Cross is also a bit of a mystery. Regarding awards, he received 'Keine', or none.

Hi 

Thanks very much - how intriguring! I noted he was in a convalescent company in the 112th so I felt he might have been injured.

I wonder whether the WIdow's Cross is to a relative? Or could perhaps he have died of WW1 injuries after the war, hence the cross?

Here is page 10-11 as requested.

Thanks

Richard

motschmann10.jpg

Edited by Rich

Hello!

That´s strange... I read: "confirmed as pension recipient".

I can´t find any wounds.