News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

What is the exact type of ' Order of the Wurttemberg Crown' awarded to the Earl of Athlone ?

Hello All,

I?m studing the awards given to a member of the British Royal Family (that was also a High Ranking Officer being He a Field Marshal). The person whose awards I'm studying is :

Brigadier-General Sir Alexander Augustus Frederick William Alfred George Cambridge (1874-1957), Viscount Trematon in the county of Cambridge and Earl of Athlone.

(He was the younger brother of Queen Mary, wife of UK King George V)

Among the Orders He received I found that He was a recipient of the :

Wurttemburg, Order of the Wurttemberg Crown, Grand Cross (awarded on 10.2.1904)

I admit my great ignorance about German Imperial awards and tried to search this Order by google finding that exist various Types of the Order in question (see : <a href="http://home.att.net/~david.danner/militaria/wuerttemberg.htm" target="_blank">http://home.att.net/~david.danner/militaria/wuerttemberg.htm</a>)

The questions (I hope that they are easy to answer) I would like that you answer about the 'Order of the Wurttemberg Crown' received by the Earl of Athlone are below listed (please excuse me again for my ignorance and what that can appear stupid questions !):

1) I read that the 'swords' were (introduced on September 19, 1870) 'for merit before the enemy', and as I don't think that He received this Order for facts related to war but simply as a member of the UK Royal Family (that had close connection with the various members of the Royalty of the Old Imperial Germany), can you confirm that He received this Order without 'SWORDS' ?

2) Can You confirm that He received the type of this Order suspended by a 'Crown' ?

3) Can you confirm that He received the type with the 'LIONS' between the arms of the Cross ?