News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Hi Dean,

I'm far from an expert on these but I'm going to go out on a limb and say I don't like it. The ribbons look far too new, the pin clasp on the back looks like the many Ohio parts bars I've seen examples of in the past. There are extremely few... I think only a couple or so, confirmed original SS bars. If you check this link (by our own Richard Lundstrom (Rick Research) it shows an original SS miniature along with examples of fakes. From what I can see in your picture I think I see some pitting and uneveness in the lines as well as a lack of the cleft between the runes.

http://www.wehrmacht-awards.com/related/ribbons/device_gallery/ss_runes/ss_runes.htm

Have you checked this bar with a UV (ultra-violet) light? It's not a sure thing but it's often an indication of fakes if the material glows.

Check the pin clasp... see if you can see any marks like pencil lines. If so that's a sure sign of an Ohio parts bar.

I'm sure if Rick sees this he'll hit the nail on the head and confirm it one way or the other for sure.

Hope I'm wrong but again I just don't like the look of it. If I saw it for sale as a fake for cheap I'd pick it up just as a space filler or for parts but that's about it.

Dancheers.gif

Dan,

I kind of thought this would fall into the fake category. I have seen other posts and thought that the SS runes on this bar looked similar to those, but I was not sure. Like you, I am not an expert and wanted an official ruling.

You are right, the ribbons look very new. After reading your post, I took a closer look at the cleft between the runes. The cleft on this ribbon bar is very, very narrow, not well defined.

Thank you for the information.

Dean