News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Good evening gents!

This just arrived, and I'm wondering if anyone here can tell me is it a mail sack or some other kind of sack? Can anyone tell me what the letters mean or stand for? I was guessing the letter H was for Heer? With these sacks, and I've seen others with different years on them, is there a front and a rear?

Thanks again!

Hello Troy

The abbreviation stands for "Heeres Verpflegung"  or army victuals/foodstuff. Of course you were right about the "H". Whether the one or the other is front or rear escapes me because I have no experience with items such as this.

Mt guess as to the different years listed on these bags, my guess could be the year of manufacture and the possibility that these bags had to be taken out of use after so much use. Perhaps because of contents being foodstuff?

Greetings from the still snow covered  Mid-West of the USA but mercifully spared the severe weather prevailing elsewhere. Except a snow storm a week ago which brought us 17 (seventeen) inches of the white stuff.

Bernhard H. Holst

Edited by Bernhard H.Holst

Thanks Bernhard!

I'll just take this opportunity to post a completely off-topic photo of life in the southern hemisphere in February, yesterday actually, at Warriewood beach, Warriewood, New South Wales, Australia. The yellow stuff is sand, the green/blue stuff in the background is warm water, and the big yellow ball in the blue sky is called "the sun". Check it out and weep northern hemisphere suckers! (in the nicest possible way of course)  ;) 

Thanks again Bernhard!