News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

EK1 1914 non magnetic ?genuine or fake

Hi,

I'm fairly new to collecting the EKs, in that had ceased collecting for 12 years and recently have become re-enthused. Advice please: I bought is from a respectable dealer,who has a guarantee. Is this genuine?? - I can't match it to any 1914 cores in Wernitz and Simons, nor any 1939 reissues in Maerz & Stimson. It looks nice though so hoping....

11.jpg

111.jpg

My first thoughts were Petz & Lorenz but not. Schickle was my next guess and although closer, again no match. More research required obviously. One of the more expert collectors here will know for sure.    

Edited by Peter Cornwell

If the Dealer is respectable , he might have given you some information about the EK

In general if one starts collecting EKs he has to start with the basic and well know makers once gaining experience then can buy some more unusual EKs with more confidence. As Peter said i hope one of more advanced and with more expertise members may identify the maker Good luck

I cannot identify the maker, but nonetheless, this is an authentic, inter-war era private purchase cross, probably from the early to mid 1930s. Very similar crosses are shown on our friend 5tefan's site ek1-dna.de, described as "Unknown Maker (Associated with Otto Schickle)". See here for reference.

6 hours ago, Graf said:

If the Dealer is respectable , he might have given you some information (...)

How that, please? If the seller cannot or doesn't want to attribute this cross to a certain maker, this has no influence on his reputation and it doesn't take anything away from the cross. I sometimes really don't get how fixated we're on the "maker thing" - often not sourced, and sometimes just wrong! This is not the main thing about authentic, historical awards, if you ask me. But I really don't want to argue...

;)

Hi All,