News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Little documented CSM-Stalingrad medal group

I have picked up this small documented Stalingrad group to a Ukrainian woman named Lydia Ivanovna Shmul from the 7th Guards Army. The research is supposed to be on its way to my home.

I have started to translate her Red Army book and I will post some of why "beginner translation" as soon as I will be done with it. I'm still a real beginner with handwritings. :unsure:

Here Red Army book says so far that she first fought for the Defense of Stalingrad, then for Belgorod, she took part in the Yassy-Kishinev operation (also called Jassy-Kishinev or Iasi-Chisinau) on the Moldavian front and then finally in the Budapest operation.

The Combat Service medal was awarded on October 10th 1943, probably for her service around Belgorod an ex-Romanian city on the Dnestr that was ceded to the Soviet Union following the 1940 Soviet Ultimatum. I will see, I hope soon, if this is from this battle. The Belgorod region was under the Soviet offensive during the Battle of Kursk in July 1943.

The research is suppose to validate that this group is complete. I don't know why she hasn't got the Budapest medal.

So here are my scans of the medals and documents I have so far. I'll throw my English translation next week, even if it's easier for me to translate from Russian to French. There might be some blank from the words I can't decipher.

Guest Rick Research

She was born 1 August 1923. Graduated from 54th Railways School, city of Lozovaya, Kharkov Oblast. Called up for military service 4 October 1942.

Book shows her as Junior Sergeant of Administrative Services/Senior Clerk (previously telephonist) in 4th Department (Signals Workshop) 7th Guards Army.

Discharged 23 June 1945. It's VERY messy and difficult to read with the SLOPPY pencilled entries, so don't get discouraged. :beer: