News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Medical graduation badges

Hello all!

I'm new to this section of the forum, and new to Soviet badges too... But I've got a question, and you are those who can help me. :cheers:

It's simple, and it could look like a game: I have an East German medical officer jacket, and I would like to complete it with the right badges. Now, the officer I'm thinking of graduated in a USSR military medical academy, somewhere around 1975... So i would need a medical academy badge to put on his jacket, but I'm not sure which one would be correct, considering the years I'm talking about.

I found a few of these badges on eBay, and I'll post a couple of pics, but I'm not sure which one would be the best, if they're correct at all...

This is described as an early '50s-'60s one:

img4516da8.jpg

This one instead is from the '80s (that's what the seller says):

57e81ux6.jpg

Were these only from a particular school or not? Were there other badges of these kind that would work better for my purpose?

Thank you all for the help you'll be able to give me.

Regards,

Filip

Edited by Drugo

Guest Rick Research

The university badge illustrated is from 1956+ since it is the 15 Republics seal (7 ribands, bottom bow, 7 ribands) introduced in that year. Into the 1960s, all such badges were brass with the seal and specialty insignia rivetted on. I do not know exactly when they changed to one piece aluminum badges, but probably in the 1970s.

Civilian college badges on military uniforms are odd but not unknown. I've had some REAL strange ones show up on photos. Here is Soviet naval land forces Engineer-Major S. D. Korsakov in 1968:

That's an AGRICULTURAL college badge!

:Cat-Scratch::speechless1:

I've also seen civilian teacher's college badges being worn in photos on naval officers uniforms!