News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Odd Award Card and Citation for Glory 3rd

I've been researching awards since 1996, and have probably seen 300+ sets (conservatively) of research in the 10 years I've been doing this.

On rare occasions though, you run into something that makes you say: "What the heck happened here???" This is one of those occasions. Hopefully, someone might be able to help me decipher what happened here with this guy's awards.

This Glory 3rd was awarded to Kanyaev, Ivan Aleksandrovich, a Layer with the 3rd Mortar Company, 3rd Battalion, 353rd Guards Rifle Regiment, 114th Guards Rifle Division.

What's interesting about this is his date of entry into the Patriotic War. Granted, this was not impossible, but it's highly unusual.... It's 22 March 1945! What's odder about it is that he was in the Soviet Army since March 1942. Perhaps a "behind the lines" guy who they wanted to move forward to see some combat and maybe get an award or two?

Well, within three and a half weeks of reporting to the unit, he was nominated for the Order of Glory 3rd Class. The citation is presented below...

Okay, so he's with the unit a few weeks and they put him up for a Glory 3rd. Not that unusual, to be certain, particularly with the losses that they were experiencing in the assault on Berlin.

What's odd though is that I received two award cards for him. The one on the right (dated 1956) lists not just the Glory 3rd, but TWO For Valor medals! Basically, this guy raked in three awards within a month and half of combat! Odder still is that both of the For Valor medals were given by the SAME unit on the SAME day under the SAME declaration (Prikaz), but were over 600,000 numbers off in serial number!