News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Insignia identification

Hello

It's the second pattern armshield, of the "Terek Cossacks". I am not an expert in cloth insignia, so I can't tell you if it's original or not. It looks very similar to one I have seen depicted, in one of my reference books. "Uniforms and tradition", by John R. Angolia and Adolf Schlicht, vol 2.

Snoopy

Edited by Snoopy

Hi Greg :cheers:

can you offer any proof as to the originality of the item in question? Pictures, etc.

I find that just stating

"This is an original Cossack sleeve shield. The back is fine."
    too be to simple an explanation when iii reich related items are being faked mega big time. :banger:

Kevin in Deva :beer:

As I said, it doesn't resemble original BeVo badges I have seen. The reverse of original foreign volunteer armshields generally looks quite different. If this is original, Greg, I would be interested in learning about it. Perhaps you can expand?

PK

Ok, Here are some side by side examples(front and back of several bevo weave volunteer sleeve shields. As you will see, the back weave is different between them. As that is what seems to be the question here. all of these are original shields. Why the different back weaves? I don't know. Obviously different machines or weaving style.

Greg

wallon1.jpg

france1.jpg

indian1.jpg

ba1.jpg

tb1.jpg

As I said, it doesn't resemble original BeVo badges I have seen. The reverse of original foreign volunteer armshields generally looks quite different. If this is original, Greg, I would be interested in learning about it. Perhaps you can expand?

PK

Hi All -