News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Purple Hearts for PTSD? Report from Congressional Research Service

ChrisW

Not that anyone has asked but... I don't like it.

I am a combat veteran.

I do not have a Purple Heart and I do not want one. (Not to imply that I disrespect this award because I hold it in high regard).

I am a disabled veteran.

My disability is related to my combat experience and is not PTSD.

PTSD ruined my best friend's life following Vietnam.

I am a retiree of the US Army (28 years but who's counting).

I know of people (by their own admission) who have been coached as to what to say to the Veterans' Administration in order to be compensated for PTSD.

VA compensation for disabilities related to PTSD should suffice.

The Purple Heart should be sustained as an award for combat wounds.

If the Armed Forces begin awards for PTSD they will be (without necessary expertise in my opinion) making eligibility determinations for the VA - a really bad idea. As it is, the VA is subjuct to fraudulent claims for PTSD and this will not help.

Let the VA do its job to the best of its ability and where compensation is awarded, that is symbolic of a grateful nation.

We need not sully a proud decoration and its recipients with this proposal.

Two cents for what it is worth.

Edited by W McSwiggan

I am against it as well, and for some of the reasons that the Col stated.

There are special benefits for those who are war wounded, and I can foresee a flood of those faking the condition in order to fraudulantly obtain the additional benefits that come with being award the Purple Heart(employment points and etc). The VA does take care of those who are disabled with PTSD, and I am glad to see that. PTSD is very real and can be a very debilitating condition, however, I do not agree with a Purple Heart being awarded for it.