News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Order for Service to the Homeland 1st, 2nd, & 3rd Classes

Hi,

Having just read an article in the recent issue of JOMSA on this order I thought I would post a picture of these 3 classes. Although the 3rd class was awarded approx 70,000 times, the 2nd class was only awarded 600 times and the 1st class a mere 13 times.

These awards were purchased in the early 90s in Russia.

All orders are numbered on the reverse but the 2nd class falls outside of the range of issued numbers and would probably be an unissued piece.

Opinions welcome. (Since our own Rick Reasearch was given speical thanks in the article I hope he will weigh in on these pieces...)

Gary B

Edited by Gary B

I'm going to say that they're unissued pieces, and my gut tells me that the 1st class is bad - but I caveat that by saying that I'm not an expert in either the 1st or 2nd classes. I can say that back in 1996 I saw an extraordinary set of these for sale at the Great Western show in California and the seller was open about the fact that they were "exceptional" copies, that he had brought out of Russia back in 1994/95. That to say that they have been making these for quite a while now!

Onto something I DO know about... :rolleyes: the 3rd class may well be an issued one from the late 80s or early 90s. I would say that it's probably worth researching. Also, the Homeland 2nds with the 800 series numbers all seem to be awarded in February 1978, and of course Homeland 1st 7 was issued, but it probably isn't this one.

If you could post up larger pics of each award, that would be great.

Dave

P.S. I'm the author of the article you read. :cheers:

Hi Dave,

Great article. I did not know it was you since I did not, up till this point, know your name!