News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Letters you would NOT want to receive

Reminding us, perhaps, that the GPW was not about "things", or people, or even history, it was about families.

For me, these are a sort of shrine to those who defeated fascism.

I have many more. There were many more.

Edited by Ed_Haynes

Guest Rick Research

I have no experience with these, but they are addressed to the local veterans commissariat office rather than directly to the family, so perhaps there was a less... bureaucratic notice from those local offices to the next of kin?

Just think: these were the "lucky" ones. They were RECORDED, having died of wounds rather than simply disappeared among the missing.

• 2 weeks later...

example 2

NKO- USSR Form. No.4

Accounting Office for Dead and Missing Soldiers 26. 2.1946

Notify: Mareev Ekaterina Ivanovna

That the soldier : Master Sergeant

Last, First and middle name: Mareev Vasilii Ivanovich

Born: 1907

Was wounded and died of wounds 31 January 1944

revisions additions and corrections appreciated

example 1

NKO- USSR Form. No.4

Accounting Office for Dead and Missing Soldiers 20.12.1945

Notify: Konoilev

That the soldier : Senior Sergeant

Last, First and middle name: Konoilev Ivan Pavlovich

Born: 1907

Was wounded and died of wounds 27 June 1942

revisions additions and corrections appreciated

That is the first I have seen of this type of document... I am sure that there are millions of these somewhere. I am actually shocked to see these originals. I wonder how the escaped archives?

Guest Rick Research