News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Hello.  Thank you for having me.  I am a serving Police officer in SE England and I am currently working on a book about the development and perceptions of British policing.  It is purely for my own entertainment, not official in any way, and not intended to be an academic study; however I do intend it to be well researched and insightful without, hopefully, being horribly boring.  

Essentially I am using the truncheon, one of the two world-wide symbols of British policing, as the spine of my account. At the moment this begins with the predecessors of Peel's New Police through to the mid 1990's when suddenly the Police jumped from woolly pully jumpers and 15½" truncheons to body armour & PR-24's.  I have been fortunate to speak to several people who were closely involved in this radical change to the Police but it looks like there are a lot of experts on this forum and I would be grateful for any assistance individuals here could offer.  I have also been working through both published sources and archives whilst trying to impose a structure but again, would be grateful for people's thoughts and opinions.

I'll just throw out a few questions initially with others to follow if I may.

Firstly, truncheons were made from a variety of hardwoods as we know.  However, mention is made of Police truncheons being made from the Malaysian latex gutta-percha in the mid nineteenth century.  Does anyone have any information as to why this was introduced, how widespread such truncheons were and why they fell into disuse?  Does anyone in fact own such a truncheon?