News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

The Endley Collection : Part 1 : The Sudan and Iraq

sabrigade

I will be posting in four parts starting with the Sudan and Iraq where I have worked during the past 5 years. Each part of the collection is housed and maintained in a different room in my house. I have been collecting militaria for more than 30 years now.This is the entrance to the television room in which this part of my collection is housed. The room is named after my late father.

This portrays most of the medals that I have acquired here in the Sudan. It includes two gordon star's for the siege of Khartoum. There are also examples of the coins that were struck by the Mahdi in Omdurman before his death. The two table knives have Victorian markings on them.

This corner display contains a suit of armour that was used by Sudanese forces at the battle of Omdurman. I purchased it from the owner's grandson in Khartoum. He carries a dhahl shield which is from Indian origin. The saddle is typical of the type used by Sudanese cavalry of the period. The tortoise shell configuration was designed to be used as a shield and contained the main kaskara sword as well as the daggers. The Martini carbine is de-activated and is a firearm that was used during the period of the re-conquest of the Sudan. Various spear heads and a battle-axe can also be seen. The jibbah he is wearing is the padded variety and was made for me by a tailor in Omdurman.

I am in the process of completing the ORBAT for the British/Egyptian Forces that fought at the battle of Omdurman in badges. The Queen's Sudan medal pair is to a private in the Lincolnshire Regiment who fought at Omdurman and also at Atbara.