News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Firstly can I say hello to everyone on this great site and a Merry Christmas.

This is my first post so treat me gently!!

I have been collecting now for about two years and have now focussed mainly on the medals and docs of Bavaria in the WW1 period, though I still can't resist the odd item from Mecklenburg-Schwerin, if funds allow! The Bavarian military records being available online really swayed it.

I have just received this bar and ribbon, which I couldn't resist.

The seller tells me it belonged to a Paul Schmitt. Unfortunately, just my luck, his service record doesn't appear on the above mentioned site.

From the 1914 Bavarian Rank List I have managed to find out the following about Paul Schmitt;

Born 1873 (haven't got exact date.)

Patent to Second Leut 5/3/1894 (with IR15)

Patent to OberLeut 9/3/1902 (Still with IR15?)

Patent to Hauptmann 26/10/1907

Patent to Major 25/8/1913

He received a Jubilee medal in 1905, but when the Rank List was published in May 1914 he hadn't received a pre war MVO4.

From Military directories I found the following;

1900 listed as Adjutant at IR15 based at Dillingen

1905 Oberleut with Jubilee medal Ir15 at War Academy

1907 At General Staff Central

1909 Hauptmann at IR17

1911 Back at General Staff Central

1914 Major as Chief of Staff at General Staff Munich. (6th Div)

So basically I am after your help to take me further and hopefully to confirm this as really his bar and ribbon.

As you can see the first medal which I have been told was a MVO3 with crown and swords has been removed, my next job!!

Sorry I can't post the backs in this post but I have run out of upload space.

Any help and comments would be greatly appreciated and I thank you in advance.

Hello,

Welcome on board ! I think you will find a lot of answers here.

Your bar is very nice.

Some research :